In the sea of humanity one need not look far to find worthy recipients of a helping hand. The causes you can choose to help are endless as are the ways you can help.

So, how do you help the less fortunate in our world?

Monetary help, or donations are probably the most common. There are those extra generous souls who give the gift of their time and to my mind that is a league above. For most of us we choose to give money. But even that is not as easy as it sounds. We must ask ourselves, would one make a greater impact by spreading contributions out amongst the previously mentioned plethora of causes or would it do more good to lump it all into one select cause?

For me and my family we go with the latter and salary sacrifice to Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS). Our reasons are many and include the belief that country citizens get a bit of a raw deal when it comes to medical care.

That is not to say I am not compelled to contribute to other causes throughout the year but I am adept at saying no to the tin shaking volunteers that are common place outside shops these days. Their cause may be just as worthy, but I am not as confident that the money will get to where it needs to go.

As we approach Christmas my children do their part to donate to those that need a little extra help. They sort through toys, select the ones they no longer use and take them into one of the local charities. We choose a different recipient each year.

In the interest of evolution I am always considering if I can do better, so share your thoughts on how to lend a helping hand.

