The kids and I have been planning on making a ‘natural’ Christmas wreath for our front gate. A few weeks ago we went for a walk in a nature reserve and scrounged some items that had fallen onto the Earth’s floor. Then today as my husband trimmed a palm tree in our yard we took one of the fronds to use as our final item. So began the construction phase.

Step 1: Cut our palm frond to a desirable length for our wreath circumfrance.

Step 2: Bend frond into something that resembles a circle then secure with a few lengths of twine.

Step 3: Make your selection of decorations from your seed pods, nuts, twigs and bark.

Step 4: Drill some holes into the nuts and pods so that you can thread twine through them for securing onto the wreath.

Step 5: Decorate however you and your little people wish.

Step 6: Hang in your chosen position and admire the view.

The advantages of a natural wreath like this one is its low cost and the fact it is weatherproof.

I hope we have inspired you to try to make your own Christmas wreath this year because quite frankly I don’t have a crafty bone in my body and I managed it in less than 15 minutes for less than $4.

Happy December people, I hope you have a wonder-filled lead up to Christmas Day.

A

